## DE SOTO AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT

## SCHOOL BOARD LEGAL STATUS

The Board of Education of the De Soto Area School District derives its legal status from the Wisconsin Constitution and statutes, and will adhere to their provisions.

The Board shall consist of nine members who are electors residing in the following municipalities, in accordance with the District plan of apportionment:

- · Village of De Soto in Vernon and Crawford Counties
- Village of Ferryville in Crawford County
- Town of Freeman in Crawford County
- Village of Genoa in Vernon County
- Village of Stoddard in Vernon County
- Town of Bergen in Vernon County
- Town of Genoa or Town of Harmony in Vernon County
- Town of Sterling in Vernon County
- Town of Wheatland in Vernon County

The Board consists of a President, Vice-President, Clerk, Treasurer and five Board members.

The District Administrator serves as executive secretary of the Board.

LEGAL REF.: Sections 118.001 Wisconsin Statutes 118.24 120.01(2) 120.02(2) 120.05(1)(d)

APPROVED: <u>December 13, 2004</u> ADMINISTRATOR: